AFL Fantasy: Elite (Actual Draft Example)

AFL Fantasy: Elite (Actual Draft Example)


AFL Fantasy
AFL Fantasy

On Thursday night I entered an AFL Fantasy: Elite competition organised by the guys from Addicted2DreamTeam on Facebook and on Twitter at @a2_dt

It was an interesting experience with a rapid selection process of 60 seconds to fill our 15 man sides (3 DEF/ 4 MID/ 1 RUCK/ 3 FWD/ 4 BENCH).

AFL Fantasy Elite

Last week I provided you with my top 50 list. LINK HERE. This was the perfect opportunity to test out my theories around this version of the game.

Firstly i’ll provide notes of my experience of the draft

– My theory that if you miss out on Cox or Maric you should wait until the end holds true. I was able to select Todd Goldstein and Matthew Leunberger with my 13th and 15th pick respectively.

– Watch out for people who are not active in the draft and whose picks are automatic selections. This can dilute the midfield quality quickly and did force me to change my plans part way through the draft.

– Make sure you draft forwards early, the quality will die off quickly. FWD/MIDS are also handy as they can be moved around your field.

I will highlight the players I selected. I’ll also provide a small review of my thoughts at each stage of the draft and why I choose players at that position. I do not want to comment to much about the selection of other participants whose identity i’ve kept anonymous.

1st Round
PICK PLAYER
1 Gary Ablett
2 Dean Cox
3 Dane Swan
4 Trent Cotchin
5 Lance Franklin
6 Scott Pendlebury
7 Mathhew Boyd
8 Jobe Watson
9 Dayne Beams
10 Brett Deledio

Round Review – I was definitely surprised to get Dane Swan at Pick 3. I understand there has been recent reported issues surrounding Swan but he is the top DreamTeam scorer in the game. I’d originally planned on selecting Trent Cotchin at pick 3. If you are playing a game with Captain Choice active it is essential you get a high scorer in early.

2nd Round
11 Brent Stanton
12 Patrick Dangerfield
13 Scott Thompson (Adel)
14 Marc Murphy
15 Josh P. Kennedy (Syd)
16 Brendon Goddard
17 Ivan Maric
18 Bryce Gibbs
19 Tom Rockliff
20 Aaron Sandilands

Round Review – Gibbs is playing midfield this season and is listed as a defender. I had Gibbs ranked at 11, so was very pleased to get him here at 17. I think he was one of the real bargain selections I got during this draft. Sandilands was an Auto-Selection and highlights the importance of being active during the draft.

3rd Round
21 Nathan Fyfe
22 Jimmy Bartel
23 Steve Johnson
24 Jack Redden
25 Shane Mumford
26 Joel Selwood
27 Steele Sidebottom
28 Paul Chapman
29 Dayne Zorko
30 Shane Tuck

Round Review – In my opinion Steve Johnson is the best forward in AFL DreamTeam. I had hoped that people would let him slide because of his 1 game suspension and thankfully this occurred. It is only one game and I can cover his absence. Another positive is Johnson is a FWD/MID so I can move him between the two positions. I had ranked Johnson at Pick 15 so now I was very pleased to have arguably the best Defender (Gibbs), Midfielder (Swan) and Forward (Johnson) in my side.

4th Round
31 Andrew Swallow
32 Jarryd Roughead
33 Sam Mitchell
34 Michael Barlow
35 Sam Jacobs
36 Tom Hawkins
37 Heath Scotland
38 Jack Grimes
39 Dyson Heppell
40 Brad Sewell

Round Review – My luck continued in the 4th round. My Pick 17 Jack Grimes was still available at Pick 38. I ranked Grimes as the 3rd best Defender in the draft behind Goddard and Gibbs and it was difficult to go past him at this selection.

5th Round
41 Chris Judd
42 Grant Birchall
43 Dale Thomas
44 Mitch Robinson
45 Taylor Walker
46 Patrick Ryder
47 Callan Ward
48 Danny Stanley
49 Beau Waters
50 Brock Mclean

Round Review – The fifth round is where the game became quite interesting. I had Beau Waters ranked at Pick 23 and Dale Thomas at Pick 25. I decided for the first time in the game to not follow my pre-list and choose Daisy Thomas. I decided to do this because I felt there was still a good amount of quality in the Defence, plus I was aware 2 teams were being Auto-Selected and that those teams would most likely take midfielders. While Thomas is still coming back from injury his versatility as a FWD/MID and his ability to score 100+ swayed my decision.

6th Round
51 Brad Ebert
52 Matt Suckling
53 Scott Selwood
54 Kieran Jack
55 Luke Shuey
56 Rory Sloane
57 Nick Dal Santo
58 Ryan O’Keefe
59 Matt Priddis
60 Mark LeCras

Round Review – By this point in the draft I noticed that the midfield quality was really beginning to dwindle due to the two Auto-Selection teams draining all the talent in these areas. I decided to select Ryan O’Keefe who was just outside my original top 50. O’Keefe I believe could be a top midfielder this season. When you remove his first 3 games from his 2012 average, O’Keefe averaged 105.44 points per game from round 5-23. He also scored 140, 154 and 140 at an average of 144.66 points per game during the finals series. I have since re-ranked O’Keefe into my top 50.

7th Round
61 Harley Bennell
62 Andrew Carrazzo
63 Dustin Martin
64 Paul Duffield
65 Cyril Rioli
66 Matthew Pavlich
67 Shaun Grigg
68 Kade Simpson
69 Hamish Hartlett
70 James Kelly

Round Review – At this selection I had Jordan Lewis (33), Cyril Rioli (36), Heath Shaw (37), Matthew Wright (38), and Dustin Marin (39) still on the board. I had re-ranked my forwards prior to the draft and placed them in the following order Martin, Rioli, Lewis and Wright, within my top 40. I choose Martin as I believe Richmond will have an improved season and believe Martin will be one of the key reasons for that improvement. My Forward line of Johnson, Thomas and Martin was now set.

8th Round
71 Ryan Griffen
72 Toby Greene
73 Lenny Hayes
74 Liam Anthony
75 Pearce Hanley
76 Ben McEvoy
77 Brendan Whitecross
78 Heath Shaw
79 Jack Watts
80 David Zaharakis

Round Review – The big surprise to me in this round was the selection before mine of Brendan Whitecross who is by all accounts still recovering from an ACL suffered in the finals. This is a key point that people need to look at the injury list before making selections. I was surprised that Heath Shaw had slide down so low in the draft. Getting him at 78 is probably my best selection. I had him ranked originally at 37 and in my re-rankings moved him up to pick 35. Heath Shaw now completed my Defence of Gibbs, Grimes and Shaw arguably 3 of the best 6 defenders.

9th Round
81 Jack Ziebell
82 Jordan Lewis
83 Matthew Wright
84 Matt Rosa
85 Corey Enright
86 Leigh Montagna
87 Jarrad Waite
88 Tom Bellchambers
89 Andrew Gaff
90 Brent Harvey

Round Review – Matthew Wright has played predominantly in the midfield this preseason and looks set to continue the role he played in the second half of 2012 up on a half forward flank and in the middle. His FWD/MID eligibility was also a crucial factor. I selected him as a midfielder knowing I could swap him with any of Johnson, Thomas and Martin.

10th Round
91 Jude Bolton
92 Nic Naitanui
93 Greg Broughton
94 Will Minson
95 Nick Riewoldt
96 Jarrad McVeigh
97 Jed Adcock
98 Sam Gibson
99 Matt de Boer
100 Nathan Foley

Round Review – This was arguably my most difficult selection. For the first time I was selecting outside my top 50 and had a difficult time deciding between Sam Gibson and Matt de Boer. I miscalculated at this pick and selected Gibson first, missing out on de Boer who was selected with the next selection. My thinking was that Gibson has the potential to be a 100 plus scorer and has continued his good 2012 form so far this preseason.

11th Round
101 Michael Johnson
102 Mitchell Duncan
103 Andrew Mackie
104 Adam Goodes
105 Daniel Hannerbery
106 Bachar Houli
107 Sharod Wellingham
108 Brent Reilly
109 Jack Riewoldt
110 Darren Jolly

Round Review – Now that I had Swan, O’Keefe and Gibson, I felt the midfield depth was quite even so I decided to select the best available, which in my opinion was Andrew Mackie. He will be a good back up and could average around 80 points per game.

12th Round
111 David Hale
112 David Armitage
113 Travis Cloke
114 Drew Petrie
115 Danyle Pearce
116 Shannon Hurn
117 Daniel Rich
118 Jarryd Blair
119 Matthew Kreuzer
120 Johnathan Brown

Round Review – Blair has looked promising this preseason and now entering his 4th season he is primed to be solid contributor in a Magpies team that scores well in DreamTeam. Blair also filled the void left by missing out on Matthew de Boer and provides another FWD/MID link.

13th Round
121 Chad Cornes
122 Adam Treloar
123 Todd Goldstien
124 Chris Newman
125 Jack Darling
126 Jason Porplyzia
127 Courtney Dempsey
178 Jay Schulz
129 Johnathan Giles
130 Brent Guerra

Round Review – I finally drafted a Ruckman. Giles was still available and an option but I decided on Goldstein because I felt he will have a good season without McIntosh at the club. Dan Currie has been impressive this preseason, but I don’t think he is ahead of Goldstein.

14th Round
131 Brian Lake
132 Mitch Golby
133 Johnathan Griffen
134 Nathan Grima
135 David Mundy
136 Luke Hodge
137 Zachary Smith
138 Michael Hibberd
139 Luke Breust
140 Shaun Higgins

Round Review – Now that we are towards the end of the draft I decided to take a risk on a potential breakout player. Hibberd has all the qualities to be a good scoring defender. READ HERE WHY.

15th Round
141 Sean Dempster
142 Harry Taylor
143 Matthew Leuenberger
144 Colin Sylvia
145 Shaun Burgoyne
146 Hamish McIntosh
147 Jarred Brennan
148 Mark Jamar
149 Angus Monfries
150 Nick Malceski

Round Review – My final selection was Matthew Leuenberger. He has the potential to be a 90+ points per game ruck and with uncertainty around Goldstein, selecting Leuenberger provided a genuine back-up option.

This wraps up the draft. Overall I think my team is well balanced. Potentially lacking depth in the midfield however strong in other areas. Share your thought and share the similarities to your AFL Fantasy Elite drafts.

Comment, Like, Subscribe. Follow @HypeFootyon twitter

5 thoughts on “AFL Fantasy: Elite (Actual Draft Example)

  1. That was really great to read man. Quite surprised by how good your team looks! I liked the short wraps at the end of each round, and it was good to hear your reasoning. I think you should be very pleased with your team and good luck for the season ahead!

  2. Thanks. I thought I’d just provide a running commentary to highlight why I choose a player at each point to emphasis the importance of being aware of who other players are recruiting and make sure you don’t leave yourself open to finishing a position on the field that has depth. It was also a good chance to provide an actual example for people of where players might be taken if they have a draft coming up in the next few weeks.

    1. Yeah I’m setting one up with my mates. Looking forward to trying the new format for myself. Hope it’s like the drafts I’ve done for American Football and Baseball in the past.

Leave a Reply

